Slideshow Image 3
Slideshow Image 4
Slideshow Image 4

About Us

Eastern Iowa Regional Housing Authority (EIRHA)
EIRHA was established in 1978 to meet the housing needs of low and moderate income families and elderly, and serves seven counties: Cedar, Clinton, Delaware, Dubuque, Jackson, Jones Counties and the city of Bettendorf in Scott County in Eastern Iowa. The cities of Clinton and Dubuque are not served by the EIRHA region. EIRHA has a contract with the United States Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) to serve as many families as possible using their calendar year budget for Housing Assistance Payments (HAP) through the Section 8 HCV Program and owns/manages 164 public housing units of family and senior citizen housing in the region. EIRHA is a member of the Iowa Chapter of NAHRO.

Housing Choice Voucher (HCV) - EIRHA has an annual contributions contract to assist up to 983 households, within its budget authority, with rental assistance in the region. The participating family chooses a decent, safe, and sanitary rental unit in which to reside. If the landlord agrees to lease the unit to the household under the Section 8 HCV Program, and EIRHA approves the rental unit, EIRHA will make monthly rental payments to the landlord to help the household pay their rent each month. Participating households pay a minimum of 30% of their adjusted income for rent and utilities or $50, whichever is greater.

Public Housing Program - EIRHA owns and manages 164 rental units in Dubuque, Jackson, Delaware, and Clinton Counties. These Public Housing units consist of apartments, duplexes, and single family homes to provide housing for low-income families, seniors, and persons with disabilities. Participants in the program pay a minimum of 30% of their adjusted income toward rent and utilities or $50, whichever is greater. Payments are made directly to EIRHA on the first of each month.

Eastern Iowa Regional Housing Corporation (EIRHC)
EIRHC is a subsidiary of EIRHA and was established in 1990 and organized as a not-for-profit under the provisions of Chapter 504A of the Iowa Code and serves six counties: Cedar, Clinton, Delaware, Dubuque, Jackson, and Jones Counties in Eastern Iowa. The purpose of EIRHC is to promote the general social welfare of eligible occupants of rental housing as determined by the USDA, IFA, and IDED regulations, without regard to race, color, religion, creed or national origin; to acquire, construct, improve, and operate any real or personal property or interest or rights. EIRHC owns and manages 10 elderly and/or disabled USDA rental units: six (1BR) in Grand Mound, Iowa, and four (1 BR) in Worthington, Iowa. Rental assistance is financed by USDA for these units.

Eastern Iowa Development Corporation (EIDC)
EIDC is a for-profit entity and a wholly own subsidiary of EIRHC. The EIDC was formed to serve as the general partner in all Low Income Housing Tax Credits (LIHTC) projects.The Peosta Evergreen Meadows (32 units) and Asbury Meadows (24 units) properties resualted in this formation.